Liverpool, Sevilla into Europa League final – who will win the trophy?

Liverpool, Sevilla into Europa League final

Liverpool, Sevilla into Europa League final

Liverpool will face Sevilla in the Europa League final following a 3-0 victory at Anfield on Thursday night.

The Reds overturned their first leg deficit thanks to an own goal by Bruno Soriano before strikes by Adam Lallana and Daniel Sturridge secured a 3-1 aggregate win.

Meanwhile, Sevilla are into a third successive Europa League final after seeing off Shakhtar Donetsk at the Ramon Sanchez Pizjuan.

Unai Emery’s men won 3-1 on the night, sealing a 5-3 aggregate win, with Kevin Gameiro scoring twice and Mariano thumping home a third.

Sevilla have won the last two finals beating Dnipro Dnipropetrovsk in Warsaw last year and Benfica in Turin in 2014 and are the first team to reach three consecutive European finals since Juventus (1995-1998).

Liverpool, meanwhile, are only the third English team to reach a Europa League final, after Fulham and Chelsea. They have a good record against Spanish teams in finals having beaten Real Madrid in the 1981 European Cup final and Alaves in the 2001 Uefa Cup final.

Facebook Comments

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.